seL4 foundation logo

Governing Board

The Governing Board of the seL4 Foundation consists of representatives appointed by Premium Members, a representative elected by General Members, and the Chair of the Technical Steering Committee.

The Governing Board meetings are normally held in private, i.e. attended by Governing Board Representatives only, although the Governing Board may invite others to participate. However, the Governing Board meeting minutes, budgets etc. are publicly accessible.

The present Governing Board

Until a sufficient number of members are signed up, the Foundation has an interim Governing Board appointed by Trustworthy Systems (TS).


Gernot Heiser
Gernot Heiser Technology Evangelist, Trustworthy Systems, CSIRO's Data61

Gernot is the Founder of TS. He is also Scientia Professor and John Lions Chair of Operating Systems at UNSW Sydney, where he has been teaching operating systems and leading research on L4 microkernels for more than 25 years. Besides that, his focus is on transferring TS technology to the real world. He was the founder and CTO of Open Kernel Labs and is presently serving as Chief Scientist (Software) at HENSOLDT Cyber. Gernot holds a PhD from ETH Zurich and is a Fellow of the ACM, the IEEE and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE).


Dan Potts
Dan Potts Engineering Director, Ghost Locomotion

Dan leads software engineering at Ghost Locomotion Inc., a California-based company which is converting cars to drive themselves, using seL4 to keep them safe. He formerly served as CEO of Cog Systems and before that as VP Engineering of Open Kernel Labs. He holds a PhD from UNSW Sydney.


June Andronick
June Andronick Leader, Trustworthy Systems, CSIRO's Data61

June leads the TS group and was a core contributor to seL4's verification story, as well as verification work on the eChronos RTOS. She holds a PhD from Paris-Saclay University. In 2011 she was recognised by MIT Tech Review as a Top Innovator under 35.

Sascha Kegreiß

Sascha leads product design and development as well as business development at HENSOLDT Cyber GmbH, a Munich-based company which develops embedded IT products that meet the highest security requirements, combining an operating system based on verified seL4 with a RISC-V processor that is protected from supply-chain attacks.

Gerwin Klein Chief Scientist, Trustworthy Systems, CSIRO's Data61

Gerwin leads research at TS, and is the team's formal verification guru. He spends much of his time deep in the proofs about seL4 and contributes to other verification research in TS. He holds a PhD from TU Munich and led the original seL4 verification, which won the MIT-TR10 award for the top 10 emerging technologies in 2011, as well as the SIGOPS Hall-of-Fame award in 2019.

John Launchbury Chief Scientist, Galois

John is Founder and Chief Scientist at Oregon-based Galois, Inc, a company employing functional programming and formal verification techniques to produce cyber-hardened products. He is also founder and CTO of Tangram Flex, a Dayton-based company developing tools for cyber-retrofitting security-critical systems. From 2014–17 he was Program Manager and then Director of the Information Innovation Office (I2O) at DARPA. He holds a PhD from Glasgow and is a Fellow of the ACM.

Board Committees

Compliance Committee

The compliance committee proposes rules and licensing conditions for the seL4 trademark, and develops certification schemes. These will undergo a consultation period with members before approval by the Board.

Its present members are:

Outreach Committee

The Outreach Committee is in charge of expanding the membership. It develops material for supporting membership recruitment. Members of the committee will work closely with existing members to make best use of their networks for strategic recruitment of members.

Its present members are: